Police Academy

PoliceAcademyOne line review: An average movie with a few funny moments, and plenty of vulgar moments.

Movie Title: Police Academy

Actors: Steve Guttenberg, Kim Cattrall,     G.W. Bailey, Bubba Smith, Donovan Scott, George Gaynes, Andrew Rubin, David Graf, Leslie Easterbrook, Michael Winslow,     Debralee Scott, Bruce Mahler,     Ted Ross, Scott Thomson, Brant von Hoffman

Director: Hugh Wilson

Year: 1984

Genre: Comedy

Method of Viewing: TV

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: No One

Rotten Tomatoes: 47% – Police Academy at its core is a harmless, innocent poke at authority that does find a fresh background in a police academy.

My rating: ** – A Good Movie

My assessment (the first 101 words at least):
The more I think about this movie, the more I dislike it. The movie itself is actually surprisingly forgettable, with each character devolving into nothing more than their cliches. The only memorable parts for me are the vulgar comedy scenes that I hated. However, there are at least enough funny scenes to keep you entertained for the duration of the movie. Still, there are better ways to spend your time, and I certainly have no plans of watching any of the sequels. This movie is good for some laughs here and there, but there’s little else to enjoy with this movie.

Normally I would break down each character in order to further look into a movie. However, these characters are really nothing more than their cliches, they have no soul like they did in Caddyshack or Young Frankenstein. What I found fascinating is that this movie seemed to know that these characters were forgettable and therefore made them as unique visually as possible.

Let’s see, we have the main guy (white, male, black hair, cadet), the main woman (white, female, cadet), the male instructor, the female instructor, the tall black guy, the average height black guy, the black woman, the white guy with red hair, the fat guy, the nerdy guy with glasses, and of course the two “evil” cadets who got shaved bald (probably just so you could tell them apart from everyone else). Just watch this movie, wait a day, and try to name all the characters. Odds are you won’t be able to (and super bonus points if you can even tell the two “evil” cadets apart). This whole thing came to the forefront in the final scenes when all the cadets were wearing their riot gear. With hats on, I kept confusing one person for another, and frankly really didn’t care if I did anyway.

For all my criticism, there is still some fun in this movie. Little pranks pulled by Mahoney, puns and gags that make this at least an enjoyable movie. If I had to pick favorite characters it would probably come down to Hightower AKA tall black guy (if only for the fun of watching him drive) and Tackleberry AKA gun nut guy.

The only other thing worth mentioning is Michael Winslow aka the guy who makes the funny sound effects. I didn’t particularly hate him or love him in the movie, and I would have ignore him altogether, except that I watched this movie on TV, and it was “hosted” by Michael Winslow. Trust me, seeing his old ass making funny noises in between commercial breaks only made the entire viewing sadder.

One Response to Police Academy

  1. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying
    to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.
    If you know of any please share. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

