Serenity

Serenity-poster-l

One line review: A SciFi action thriller that only makes the absence of Firefly that much more painful.

Movie Title: Serenity

Actors: Nathan Fillion, Gina Torres, Alan Tudyk, Morena Baccarin, Adam Baldwin, Jewel Staite, Sean Maher, Summer Glau, Ron Glass, Chiwetel Ejiofor, David Krumholtz

Director: Serenity

Year: 2005

Genre: Action / SciFi

Method of Viewing: Netflix Instant Watch

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: Friends in #Jazzmess

Rotten Tomatoes: 81% – Snappy dialogue and goofy characters make this Wild Wild West soap opera in space fun and adventurous.

My rating: *** – A Great Movie

My assessment (the first 101 words at least):
I only actually watched Firefly in the last 6 months or so, and while I loved the series I didn’t seem to have the same level of love as others. Perhaps because I didn’t watch it when Fox was canceling it, or I didn’t follow the build up to this film. However, now that I’ve finally seen the finale of Firefly, I still can’t seem to find the absolute love that others had. It was a fantastic and fun movie to watch, but it didn’t really end the series so much as make me wish the movies or episodes could continue.

Serenity_River_Pointing It was certainly enjoyable to see all of the favorite characters again. Even if the sets were destroyed and rebuilt, everything looks and feels familiar. My only regret with this movie is that it feels like nothing more than an extended episode of Firefly. For all intents and purposes this should be included on the Firefly Season 1 DVD, as the two hour season finale. While I love the series, and enjoyed the movie, I also have to acknowledge that this movie couldn’t possibly work as a stand-alone.

Serenity_CrewAs a fan of Firefly I’m easily able to pick up on all the characters, playing out the roles they’ve established over a season of television. However, even with two hours Serenity just doesn’t have enough time to give all of the characters the time you feel they deserve. It’s not any fault of the actual movie, they simply don’t have the time for the characters and what was essentially supposed to be an entire television season of plot. Fans will always have at least one favorite in the cast (Jayne for me) and they will most likely never get another chance to see more of those characters.

Serenity_Fighting I certainly enjoyed watching Firefly on a bigger budget, and of course the incredibly well choreographed fight scenes seemed to bring the entire movie up. While the plot’s big reveal could be seen from a mile away, it still did give some sense of closure to this entire universe. The only down side of course is trying to figure out what will happen to the Alliance now. As far as I know there will be no additional comics, movies, or anything to continue the story.

When I made the 101 list I purposely avoided movies that were too recent because I wanted the movie to stand the test of time. This movie however is one that I only enjoyed for more personal reasons rather than for it being a legendary movie. It’s still a great movie with fun action, but it will only be remembered for finishing Firefly, rather than for a stand alone film.

 

 

One Response to Serenity

  1. Shoe Fan says:

    To tell the truth, I am speechless. The Shawshank Redemption is phenomenal. I’am quite young movie fan, actually, this film is realised the same yearI was very young, and thence I am more accustomed films with unbelievable special effects, edge-of-your-seat action, et cetera. This film has zero of that, and nevertheless, it appeals so closely to me . The way Frank Darabont applies the story of Red to drive on the story, the beauty of the soundtrack utilized (note the mouth harp used merely before Red finding the letter close to the end). The whole film, from beginning to finish, from actions to music, is a beacon of desire, judgment, and redemption. The cast is mastered, Morgan Freeman(Red) in reality brings about a refreshing feel to the story, and that is exactly what the movie is, what a film should be. Highly recommended for each film fan.

Leave a Reply

