The Silence of the Lambs

One line review: An incredibly tense and haunting tale that introduces an unforgettable villain.

Movie Title: The Silence of the Lambs

Actors: Jodie Foster, Anthony Hopkins, Scott Glenn, Anthony Heald, Ted Levine, Frankie Faison, Kasi Lemmons, Brooke Smith, Paul Lazar, Dan Butler

Director: Jonathan Demme

Year: 1991

Genre: Drama

Method of Viewing: DVD

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: No One

Rotten Tomatoes: 96% – Director Jonathan Demme’s smart, taut thriller teeters on the edge between psychological study and all-out horror, and benefits greatly from stellar performances by Anthony Hopkins and Jodie Foster.

My rating: *****

My assessment (the first 101 words at least): This is yet another movie that I have heard referenced a thousand times, without ever knowing the full context. From what I had gathered, I thought this movie was nothing more than an interview between Clarice and Hannibal where Hannibal described his victims. Instead it was about a killer I had never heard of before, and Hannibal was kept extremely low key. It was that low key nature that made him all the more threatening. The movie does a masterful job of maintaining suspense as each scene seems to build on the last one. It really feels like an absolute masterpiece.

Despite giving it a perfect rating, I did have a small complaint. There are many twists throughout the movie, and unfortunately I saw quite a few of them before they actually occurred. I can’t figure out if this is simply me looking into the movie too deeply, or if this movie’s twists were copied later in other TV shows I’ve already seen. Considering how many of the quotes I recall, it’s entirely possible.

I absolutely loved Hannibal, as a villain and as a character. He was much more subtle than I thought, only breaking out cursing and vulgarities on very rare occasions. I still can’t put my finger on why he would suddenly break out into such vulgar language at random times.  He walked such a strange line between vicious murder and curious psychiatrist. I also enjoy how much mystery surrounds him when you only watch this movie. You don’t know his specific crimes, though you can assume it was many. You can’t comprehend how he turned to such madness, but you know it must have been long ago. He is at his most powerful when he is this mysterious.

One Response to The Silence of the Lambs

  1. taboo.bg says:

    My brother recommended I may like this web site.
    He used to be totally right. This publish truly made my day.
    You can not imagine simply how a lot time
    I had spent for this information! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

