Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

One line review: A fantastic movie for kids who are fans of the Ninja Turtles, and little else.

Movie Title: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Actors: Josh Pais, Michelan Sisti, Leif Tilden, David Forman, Robbie Rist, Corey Feldman, Brian Tochi, Judith Hoag, Elias Koteas, Michael Turney, Kevin Clash, James Saito, Toshirô Obata, David McCharen, Michael McConnohie

Director: Steve Barron

Year: 1990

Genre: Action / Comedy

Method of Viewing: TV

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: No One

Rotten Tomatoes: 46% – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is exactly as advertised: one-liners, brawls, and general silliness. Good for the young at heart, irritating for everyone else.

My rating: ***

My assessment (the first 101 words at least): I was a huge fan of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles as a kid, however I have no real memory of watching the cartoon, reading comics, or seeing the movies. I put this movie on the list to see if I could recall any bit of the movie. While it appears I either didn’t see it (or don’t remember it) it was a wave of nostalgia that I couldn’t help but enjoy. This movie is too silly and corny to ever be considered a fantastic movie, but it’s just a fun movie that I’m glad I remembered to include on my list.

The movie was definitely goofier than I thought it would be, the TMNT cartoon that’s on during the last 5 years is more mature than this was. All of the goofiness was actually pretty over the top for me, the only thing that made it bearable was the nostalgia factor for everything. Other than that, I was impressed by how much story they were able to stuff into this film. The origin stories of the turtles, shredder, splinter, and the meeting of April O’Neal and Casey Jones all in one film. Admitedly they had to keep things fairly simple but they managed to make it work. Honestly, I doubt they could have fit that all in to a movie and made it any better than they made Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Definitely will remain a nostalgic favorite for me.

Leave a Reply

