The Goonies

One line review: A fantastic tale that is only entertaining for children.

Movie Title: The Goonies

Actors: Sean Astin, Josh Brolin, Jeff Cohen, Corey Feldman, Kerri Green, Martha Plimpton, Jonathan Ke Quan, John Matuszak, Robert Davi

Director: Richard Donner

Year: 1985

Genre: Comedy / Adventure

Method of Viewing: TV

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: No One

Rotten Tomatoes: 64% – The Goonies is a smooth mixture of the usual ingredients from Steven Spielberg action movies, made special because of the high-energy performances of the kids who have the adventures.

My rating: ***

My assessment (the first 101 words at least): This movie works only as a movie for young children (despite the random cursing thrown in). Kids will be thrilled by the constant challenges and adventures the Goonies go through, however there is little else to be enjoyed. It’s actually quite disappointing, since so many of the great children’s movies that I’ve watched seem to have at least something for adults to enjoy. However, this movie barely has a central plot, and instead simply has a series of crazy, scary, and fantastic events. Still, I can strongly recommend this movie for any child, they’ll absolutely be entertained from start to finish.

I don’t have much else to say about this movie, because it left little impact on me. The only things I wanted to mention, is that this movie actually managed to capture the way children talk over each other. It’s incredibly annoying if you’re trying to actually figure out what they’re saying, but it’s accurate. The other thing I wanted to complain about was the needless cursing. I know this is a PG-13 movie (probably due to the violence against children, and Sloth) but the cursing really wasn’t necessary. I feel an ideal age for this movie would be 4-8 years old, except for the cursing. Oh well.

One Response to The Goonies

  1. Fata Morgana says:

    Basically, this movie is loved for 80s nostalgia. I was 8 when the movie came out; it was basically a movie for me and I loved it. I recognize the cheesiness of it now, but it’s so iconic for 80s kids that I still have a love for it (not that I have any intention of watching it again, I probably couldn’t sit through it)

Leave a Reply

