Rocky

One line review: It’s a tale that’s been told a thousand different ways, and yet Sylvester Stallone manages to make it entertaining.

Movie Title: Rocky

Actors: Sylvester Stallone, Talia Shire, Burt Young, Carl Weathers, Burgess Meredith, Thayer David, Joe Spinell, Jimmy Gambina, Bill Baldwin, Al Silvani

Director: John G. Avildsen

Year: 1976

Genre: Drama

Method of Viewing: Netflix Instant Watch

Location of Viewing: Work

Viewing with: No One

Rotten Tomatoes: 93% – This story of a down-on-his-luck boxer is thoroughly predictable, but Sylvester Stallone’s script and stunning performance in the title role brush aside complaints.

My rating: ****

My assessment (the first 101 words at least): This movie surprised me in it’s ability to make me fascinated with it’s characters. In the end, there’s probably only 15 minutes of actual boxing in this movie, and yet I wasn’t bored in between. The characters of Adrian and Rocky fascinated me, and I enjoyed watching them evolve and change as the movie went on. I still feel that this movie isn’t as epic as people seem to remember. It actually feels completely inappropriate to be to call it epic, because this movie tells the incredible story of a nobody who became a somebody through his own will and strength.

It was difficult to choose which movie sequels to include on this list, and which ones to not include. It was difficult to decide, but I thought that Rocky would work better as a single movie than trying to watch all of the sequels. However, now that I’ve seen this movie I honestly want to see more. I’m not sure if it’s because I want to see Rocky get a victory, or if the character Sylvester Stallone has created was so fascinating. Either way, I suppose this movie did it’s job as I can’t wait to see more Rocky. The only reason I didn’t give this film a full 5 stars is because the story didn’t feel nearly as epic as I had thought it would be. In the end, this movie is really meant to feel like that though. This movie is perfect as it is.

Leave a Reply

