Lethal Weapon

One line review: A film that works great as a buddy comedy, but hits far too many action cliches as the plot unfolds.

Movie Title: Lethal Weapon

Actors: Mel Gibson, Danny Glover, Gary Busey, Mitch Ryan, Tom Atkins, Darlene Love, Traci Wolfe, Jackie Swanson, Damon Hines, Ebonie Smith

Director: Richard Donner

Year: 1987

Genre: Action

Method of Viewing: TV

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: Family

Rotten Tomatoes: 90% – The most successful installment in a phenomenally successful series, Lethal Weapon helped redefine action movies for the 1980s and 1990s.

My rating: ***

My assessment (the first 101 words at least): This movie started as an absolutely fantastic buddy comedy with one of the best pairings I’ve ever seen. However, as the plot began to unfold, the overused tricks and plot holes began to show.As the movie wore on, I began to forget how much I loved the buddy cop beginning, and instead just became more and more annoyed as the plot became absolutely ridiculous. I wish this movie simply had more interaction between Mel Gibson and Danny Glover than an actual overriding plot. Perhaps if I had watched this movie in the 80s, I wouldn’t have been annoyed at the cliches.

The exact turning point for me with this movie, was when I was at the height of enjoying the interactions between Mel Gibson and Danny Glover.  I thought about the sequels, and figured that they would start hitting some of the classic cliches like having Danny Glover’s daughter get kidnapped. Then 15 minutes later, that exact same event happened. That’s when I knew that things would only be downhill from here. It was just way too many cliches after that. It all culminated with one of the most mind numbing conclusions I’ve ever seen. Gibson & Glover know that Gary Busey is coming, so they set up a trap. A trap that involves two officers getting killed, and shoving the dead cops car into Glover’s house. Then, to top it all off, Glover let’s Gibson & Busey fight it out for no reason whatsoever.  All of this crap nearly gets a 3rd and 4th cop killed just to top it off. Great police work jackasses. Loved the first half of this movie, hated the second half. I will never watch another one of these movies. I’m only willing to give this movie as high a ratings as I gave it because of how much I enjoyed Glover & Gibson’s interaction.

Leave a Reply

