Blazing Saddles

One line review: The only live action Looney Tunes movie I ever want to see; this is my favorite Mel Brooks movie.

Movie Title: Blazing Saddles

Actors: Mel Brooks, Gene Wilder, Cleavon Little, Slim Pickens

Director: Mel Brooks

Year: 1974

Genre: Comedy

Method of Viewing: DVD

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: No One

Rotten Tomatoes: 89% – It’s a crazed grabbag of a movie that does everything to keep us laughing except hit us over the head with a rubber chicken.

My rating: ****

My assessment (the first 101 words at least): I thought Young Frankenstein was okay, but occasionally annoying. I thought Spaceballs was too frantic and crazy for my preference. However, this movie struck a perfect balance with my funny bone. It felt like I was watching Bugs Bunny running around, and I was more than willing to accept the frantic nature of the film. There also seemed to be more of a driving force, even a plot in this movie than in something like Spaceballs. My favorite parts are the parts most like a cartoon, especially when the movie just drops all pretense and throws in cartoonish sound effects. Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

