Saving Private Ryan

One line review: A war story that manages to both embrace all of the standard stereotypes of a war movie and also breath fresh new life into genre.

Movie Title: Saving Private Ryan

Actors: Tom Hanks, Tom Sizemore, Edward Burns, Barry Pepper, Adam Goldberg, Vin Diesel, Giovanni Ribisi, Jeremy Davies, Matt Damon, Ted Danson, Paul Giamatti

Director: Steven Spielberg

Year: 1998

Genre: Drama

Method of Viewing: DVD

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: No One

Rotten Tomatoes: 92% – Anchored by another winning performance from Hanks, Spielberg’s unflinchingly realistic war film virtually redefines the genre.

My rating: *****

My assessment (the first 101 words at least): This is another example of a movie that might not be my personal favorite, but I can recognize it as a powerful movie both visually and emotionally. It certainly show a lot of effort for how much each character is cared for and fleshed out. I admit I wasn’t as impressed by the war scenes as other reviewers have been, I either don’t have an appreciation for the complexity of the effects, or I’ve been spoiled by CG graphics. The movie certainly accomplishes something I didn’t think was possible, giving me the impact and legacy of World War II. Impressive.

Leave a Reply

