Fargo


One line review: Fargo is well loved by many fans but it simply didn’t click with me.

Movie Title: Fargo

Actors: William H. Macy, Steve Buscemi, Peter Stormare, Kristin Rudrüd, Harve Presnell, Tony Denman, Gary Houston, Sally Wingert

Director: Joel Coen

Year: 1996

Genre: Drama

Method of Viewing: DVD

Location of Viewing: Home

Viewing with: No One

Rotten Tomatoes: 94% – Violent, quirky, and darkly funny, Fargo delivers an original crime story and a wonderful performance by McDormand.

My rating: *

My assessment (the first 101 words at least): A dark comedy has to hit a very fine line to succeed. In my opinion, Fargo wobbles all over that line. At times the comedy is so odd and jarring that I just end up staring at the movie trying to figure out if that was supposed to be a joke. Other times I’m amazed at how dark a scene will be and wonder how this movie is supposed to make me laugh. The most aggravating part of this movie was the accents, which made me want to punch the screen. This movie just hit all the wrong notes with me.

One Response to Fargo

  1. gambling man says:

    gambling man…

    […]Fargo « 101 Movies I Need to See[…]…

Leave a Reply

